MIT Libraries logo

Conservation Bank Service Areas: San Francisco Bay Area, California, 2011

, , , , and
This polygon shapefile depicts the service areas designated by the United States Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS) to contain conservation banks located in the nine county San Francisco Bay Area Region, California. Conservation banks are permanently protected lands that contain natural resource values. These lands are conserved and permanently managed for species that are endangered, threatened, candidates for listing as endangered or threatened, or are otherwise species-at-risk. Conservation banks function to offset adverse impacts to these species that occurred elsewhere, sometimes referred to as off-site mitigation. In exchange for permanently protecting the land and managing it for these species, the FWS approves a specified number of habitat or species credits that bank owners may sell. This dataset was developed/compiled for use in the San Francisco Bay Area Upland Habitat Goals Project, a Project used to identify a Conservation Lands Network (CLN) for biodiversity preservation to inform conservation investments and lasting cooperative conservation partnerships. The Conservation Lands Network GIS Database is the primary output of the Project. The data depicts the spatially explicit CLN that is recommended for the nine county San Francisco Bay Area Region, California.
Bay Area Open Space Council
San Francisco Bay Area (Calif.), Alameda County (Calif.), Contra Costa County (Calif.), Marin County (Calif.), Napa County (Calif.), San Francisco County (Calif.), San Mateo County (Calif.), Santa Clara County (Calif.), Solano County (Calif.), and Sonoma County (Calif.)
Biodiversity, Biogeography, Wilderness areas, Natural areas, Biotic communities, Ecological zones, Conservation of natural resources, Endangered species, Endangered plants, Biology and Ecology, Environment, and Planning and Cadastral
Held by:
More details at