MIT Libraries logo

Mapping Interstate Territorial Conflict, 1947-2000

This polygon shapefile represents areas that were the subject of interstate territorial disputes between 1947 and 2000. The disputed areas referenced in this map were identified in 'The Democratic Peace and Territorial Conflict in the Twentieth Century' (Huth and Allee, 2002.) Each disputed region is rendered as a polygon encompassing the area of overlapping claims. Each region has a variable 'homeland,' indicating whether the area was ever part of a dispute involving homeland territory for both states. Each dispute is also assigned a precision code, from 1 to 5, where 1 represents the highest level of certainty and 5 represents the lowest level. The vast majority of claims represented in this dataset were bounded with relatively high precision. Research related to these data is described in 'Mapping Interstate Territorial Conflict: A New Data Set and Application.' Related information for these data, including annual data for dyads and direct dyads involved in disputes, as well as a file of the territorial disputes identified by Huth and Allee, can be found at: dataset is intended for researchers, students, policy makers, and the general public for reference and mapping purposes, and may be used for basic applications such as viewing, querying, and map output production, or to provide a basemap to support graphical overlays and analysis with other spatial data.
Stanford Digital Repository
Argentina, Bangladesh, Benin, Bolivia, Botswana, Great Britain, Brunei, Cambodia, Chad, China, Comoros, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, France, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Korea (North), Korea (South), Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Somalia, Southern Yemen, Soviet Union, Spain, Suriname, Syria, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen (Republic), Yugoslavia, and Zaire
Boundary disputes, Geopolitics, and Boundaries
Held by:
More details at